Objective – what are the facts?

For this post, I have chosen to explore the quote: “…there will be very few standardized practices that help students across the board learn essential skills or knowledge. An approach that one student finds particularly useful or congenial may well be profoundly unsettling and confusing to the student sitting next to her” (Brookfield, 2015, p. 17).

This quote indicates learning preferences and styles differ from student to student. Brookfield states there are few methods that can be sure to work for all. He cautions against using one approach or instructional style at all times, for all students.

Reflective – what experiences can be related?

In my own experience, the diverse learning preferences of students have been shown when I have asked for feedback on the effectiveness of my instruction. For example, in a class where role playing was used, some students indicated they disliked role playing, while other students in the same class indicated they enjoyed it. In another class when a large amount of handouts were used, comments included “too many handouts” to “love the handouts.”

I think back to my own experiences as a student in elementary, where we were asked to create a music video. I – being a more shy and reserved student – preferred to learn through reading and written tests. I found the making of a music video stressful and unfamiliar, while it was apparent to me other students were happy and excited to participate. Although as an adult I have since embraced making videos, I still remember my past feelings of discomfort. I recognize, even at a very young age, I had developed strong learning preferences.

Interpretive – so what does this mean?

It is important to vary learning activities, instructional styles and methods of delivery. In the past, numerous ways to categorize learners have been identified. However, my intention is not to categorize students, but rather to understand the different learning preferences and styles, and to adjust my own instruction in response to this. Here are a few styles and preferences as summarized by MacKeracher (2004):

  • Analytic & holistic cognitive styles (Entwistle, 1981; Miller, 1991);
  • Cognitive, affective, physiological, interpersonal learning styles (Keefe, 1987);
  • Field-dependent and field-independent learners (Witkin & Goodenough, 1977);
  • Language, numerical, and auditory-visual-kinesthetic learners (Suessmuth, 1985);
  • Introversion-extraversion, thinking-feeling, intuiting-sending and judging-perceiving personality styles (Myers, 1985).

The reading which has intrigued me the most are MacKeracher’s (2004) exploration of Kolb’s learning styles (1985), in which she summarizes:

  • Assimilative learners – prefer reading or lecture-style presentations of ideas
  • Convergent learners – prefer defining the learning task & objectives, setting clear goals, decision making and practical application
  • Accommodative learners – prefer doing things, taking risks and getting involved in new experiences
  • Divergent learners – prefer talking, sharing experiences, or brainstorming ideas

My own preferred learning style from Kolb’s model is primarily assimilative – I prefer learning by reading, taking notes, and listening to lectures. I agree with MacKeracher, “Facilitators tend to start with the activities that represent their preferred learning style on the assumption that this is the ‘best way to learn.’ […] The activity chosen as a starting point will affect the design of the remainder of the process” (2004, p. 87). I realize I may tend to operate in my preferred learning style, which may set the tone for the entire class.

I often express to students, the greatest learning occurs on the outskirts of our comfort zone – the more we spend time on the edges of our comfort zone, the more our comfort zone grows. The key for me to become a better-rounded teacher, and learner, is to become proficient in all styles of learning.

Decisional – what is my commitment?

I believe learning is diverse, and occurs differently for each student. In consideration of this, I will apply the following when teaching in the future:

  1. Allow opportunity for students to articulate their own unique learning preferences, strengths and weaknesses. This can be achieved through student questionnaires, discussion, self-reflection, or by introducing students to surveys such as the Kolb Learning Style Inventory (Kolb, 1985).
  2. Become aware of my own learning preferences, and practice using learning styles I may not be comfortable with.
  3. Use a variety of instructional strategies and activities in the classroom on a daily basis, and more importantly, to not repeat any one type of activity in excess. For example, a one hour class may include a short quiz, a hands-on activity, storytelling, and a brainstorming activity.
  4. Do not become discouraged at mixed feedback regarding the effectiveness of instruction from student questionnaires. Instead, I plan to embrace this as the diverse uniqueness of individuals, and really what makes teaching interesting and rewardingly challenging.

 

References:

Brookfield, S. (2006). The Skillful Teacher: On Technique, Trust, and Responsiveness in the Classroom (2nd ed). San Francisco, CA: Jossey-Bass.

Entwistle, N. J. (1981). Styles of Learning and Teaching: an Integrated Outline of Educational Psychology for Students, Teachers and Lecturers. Chichester; New York: Wiley.

Kolb, D.A. (1985). Learning style inventory. Boston: McBer & Company.

Keefe, J. W. (1987). Learning style: theory and practice. Reston, Va: National Association of Secondary School Principals.

MacKeracher, D. (2006). Making Sense of Adult Learning (2nd. ed., Repr). Toronto: Univ. of Toronto Press.

Miller, A. (1991). Personality Types: A Modern Synthesis. Calgary: University of Calgary Press.

Myers, I. (1985). Gifts differing (7th ed.) . Palo Alto, CA: Consulting Psychologists Press.

Witkin, H. A., & Goodenough, D. R. (1976). FIELD DEPENDENCE AND INTERPERSONAL BEHAVIOR. ETS Research Bulletin Series, 1976(1), i–78. http://doi.org/10.1002/j.2333-8504.1976.tb01098.x